Oregon Institute of Technology

Home | Athletics | Media | Sports News

Four Owls Earn Cascade Conference Basketball Honors

Mar 04, 2014
Four Owls Earn Cascade Conference Basketball Honors

LA GRANDE, Ore. – Oregon Tech senior’s Kassi Conditt  (La Pine, Ore.) and Karissa Dixon (Medford, Ore.) have been named to the CCC Red-Lion All-Conference Team with Ashleigh Vandenbrink (Davis, Calif.) picking up Freshman of the Year honors and senior Maria Ramirez (La Pine, Ore.) garnishing All-CCC Honorable Mention accolades, in a vote of the league’s coaches, the conference office announced Tuesday. 

Dixon becomes a three-time All-CCC award winner with Conditt picking up her second all-conference honor in 2014. 

Conditt leads the Owls in scoring and rebounding at 12.8 points and 9.1 rebounds per contest.  Conditt has also amassed 91 assists, while her 115 blocks is No. 3 in the NAIA and tops her own school-record of 88 set last year.  Conditt’s 282 career blocks is also a school-record.  Dixon is averaging 11.3 points a game and has 54 steals on the season, both second on the team.  Her 141 assists leads the Owls and ranks No. 17 in the NAIA.  Dixon’s assist/turnover ratio ranks No. 7 in the NAIA, while the 5-10 guard is grabbing 4.6 rebounds per game. 

Ramirez, who has plays every position on the floor for Tech, averages 5.7 points and is second on the squad at 6.0 rebounds a game and 103 assists.  In her first season in an Owl uniform, Vandenbrink averaged 9.2 points in the regular season, adding 3.0 rebounds and 33 assists.  Vandenbrink leads the Owls in 3-point shooting percentage (39.1%) on 52-of-133, which ranks her fourth in the CCC and No. 29 in the NAIA. 

For the rest of the conference Eastern Oregon’s Brittney Newcomb was named CCC Player of the Year after grabbing six of a possible nine first place votes.  Newcomb leads the CCC in scoring at 22.7 points per game and is the top free throw shooter, hitting on 91 percent (156-172) of her charity tosses. 

For the second consecutive year, Corban’s Tara Vanweerdhuizen of Corban University has been selected as Defender of the Year,  and in her thirteenth season The Evergreen State College’s Monica Heuer was selected the CCC’s Coach of the Year after tying the Geoducks’ high-water mark for wins at 16.

Name Institution Pos. Ht. CL. Hometown
Kassi Conditt Oregon Tech P 6-2 Sr. La Pine Ore.
Karissa Dixon Oregon Tech G 5-10 Sr. Medford, Ore.
Chakala Carthen College of Idaho G 5-9 Sr. Sparks, Nev.
Sammi Clark Evergreen G 5-8 Sr. Monroe, Wash.
Allison Gida Southern Oregon G 5-11 Sr. Ashland, Ore.
Erica Martinez College of Idaho G 5-7 Sr. Salt Lake City, Utah
Carly Meister Southern Oregon F 6-2 So. Elma, Wash.
Domi Mendezona Northwest G 5-6 Sr. Issaquah, Wash.
Brittany Newcomb Eastern Oregon G 5-7 Sr. Medford, Ore.
Nicole Redd Eastern Oregon G 5-5 Sr. Lewiston, Ore.
Kristen Schoenheer Southern Oregon G 5-9 So. Rainier, Wash.
Tara Vanweerdhuizen Corban C 6-2 Jr. Spokane, Wash.

Honorable Mention: Maria Ramirez, Oregon Tech; Jessica Denmon, Evergreen; Dayna Drager, College of Idaho; Hannah Frederick, Northwest Christian; Brittany Gray, Evergreen; Jade Lowery, Corban; Caitlyn McCutcheon, Concordia; Sanda Milovic, Northwest; Jordan Wilcox, Warner Pacific.

Back to All News