Oregon Institute of Technology

2012 Hustlin’ Owls Named George Pasero Team Recipient, Miles Slats Gill Finalist

Jan 28, 2013

BEAVERTON – After coming off their third NAIA Division II men’s basketball national championship in 2012, the Hustlin’ Owl basketball team was selected a recipient of the George Pasero Team award, while Head Coach Dan Miles is a finalist for the Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year Award at the upcoming 61st annual Oregon Sports Awards Show announced recently. 

Miles is looking for his second Slats Gill award, having been selected in 2004, while the 2012 national championship team earned their third George Pasero Team of the Year award, having been selected in both 2004 and 2008 after concluding those seasons as NAIA II Men’s Basketball National Champion. 

The 2012 Hustlin’ Owl team members to be honored include: Jordan Kiely (Lakeview, Ore.), Kyle Gomez (Bly, Ore.), David Clarke (Aukland, New Zealand), Liston Case (Chiloquin, Ore.), Bobby Hunter (Reno, Nev.), Bryant Sentman (Cottage Grove, Ore.), Alex Zerbach (Covington, Wash.), Fred Corpening (Brookings Harbor, Ore.), Kyle Waits (Medford, Ore.), Scotty Riddle (Madras, Ore.), Jason Gamblin (Herriman, Utah),  Josh Johnson (Perth, Australia), Brandon Bautista (Kahala, Hawaii), Mihajlo Matic (Belgrade, Serbia), and the late Nathan Maddox (Portland, Ore.).  Coaching staff include: Head Coach Dan Miles, Associate Head Coach Mike Pisan, assistant coaches Jason deVries and Paul Poetsch. 

Award recipients will be announced at the OSA on Sunday, February 10, 2013 at the Tiger Woods Center on the Nike World Headquarters in Beaverton.

The George Pasero Award and Slats Gill Award are two of many awards that will be presented at the Oregon Sports Awards. The OSA honors the state’s top athletes, coaches and teams of the calendar year 2012. A statewide media panel votes on the awards.

ESPN SportsCenter anchor and Oregon native, Neil Everett, will be the master of ceremonies and numerous sports celebrities will present the awards.

Back to All News