Oregon Institute of Technology

Bautista and Waits Pick up Conference Honors

Mar 05, 2014
Bautista and Waits Pick up Conference Honors

LA GRANDE, Ore. – Oregon Tech junior Brandon Bautista (Kapaau, Hawaii) has been named to the Cascade Collegiate Conference Red Lion All-Conference Team with junior Kyle Waits (Medford, Ore) picking up honorable mention honors, the conference office announced Wednesday.

Bautista averaged 10.1 points a game was 5th in the NAIA in assist to Turnover ratio averaging over 5 assists per game and was 12th in the NAIA in total assist at 164. Waits led the 2013-2014 Hustlin’ Owls in scoring and rebounding this season averaging 14.6 points per game along with 7.5 rebounds. Waits was also in the Top 50 in the NAIA in several categories including; field goal percentage (55%), total rebounds, and rebounds per game.

Concordia University’s Adam Herman has been named the Cascade Collegiate Conference Men’s Player of the Year after league’s head coaches chose the Cavalier as its top player.

Herman, a 6-6 senior forward from Vancouver, Wash., leads the CCC in scoring average (24.6 ppg), and is third in field goal shooting percentage at 60.6 pct (237-of-391) and is also ranks third in free throw percentage and an even 82 percent (218-266). All of this while averaging 30 minutes played per game. Herman is currently sixth in the NAIA Division II with his 24.6 scoring average.

The 2013-14 Defender of the Year award will go to College of Idaho junior Sydney Donaldson. The 6-foot-3 import from Coventry, England is currently fifth on the CCC steals table with 1.6 thefts per game. In his 29 games this season, the ‘Yote guard/forward averaged 10.7 points and 3.6 rebounds.

Spencer Coleman of Northwest Christian College was selected as 2013-14 Newcomer of the Year. The Beacons’ 6-foot-6 guard/forward from Eugene, Ore., nearly averaged a double-double on the season with 17.4 points and 8.4 rebounds per game in his 30 contests played so far this season.

Scott Garson of The College of Idaho was selected the CCC’s Coach of the Year by his peers after leading the Coyotes to the CCC regular season and tournament titles. The Yotes (28-5) continued to improve on one of the most impressive team turnarounds in recent CCC history with an 82-59 victory over Northwest Christian in the CCC Tournament finale Tuesday night.

Name Institution Pos. Ht. Class. Hometown
Brandon Bautista Oregon Tech PG 5-7 Jr. Kapaau, Hawai’i
Coleton Baker Northwest Christian G 6-4 Sr. Oakland, Ore.
Spencer Coleman Northwest Christian G/F 6-6 Sr. Eugene, Ore.
Tony Eackles, Jr. Eastern Oregon G 6-3 Sr. Las Vegas, NV
Michael Greene Northwest F 6-5 Sr. Bellingham, Wash.
Adam Herman Concordia F 6-7 Sr. Vancouver, Wash.
Esvan Middleton Concordia F/C 6-7 Jr. Culver City, Calif.
Demetrius Perkins College of Idaho G 6-3 Jr. Compton, Calif.
Taylor Pruett College of Idaho F 6-7 Sr. Arroyo Grande, Calif.
David Sturner Southern Oregon C 6-8 Sr. Philomath, Ore.
Doug Thomas Warner Pacific F 6-5 Jr. Beaverton, Ore.
Eric Thompson Southern Oregon F 6-7 So. Roseburg, Ore.

Honorable Mention: Jeff Bush, Southern Oregon; Kyle Calhoun, Evergreen; Jordan Carter, Corban; Sydney Donaldson, College of Idaho; Nemanja Grujicic, Northwest; Austin Keumper, Northwest Christian; Ryan Parks, Warner Pacific; Tyler Velasquez, Concordia; Kyle Waits, Oregon Tech; Josh Wilson, College of Idaho.

Back to All News