Home | Libraries | About | Circulation

Circulation

How do I check out materials?

In Klamath Falls: Materials may be checked out at the Access Services desk on the first floor of the LRC.

In Wilsonville: Materials may be checked out from the student assistant or the librarian. 

How do I renew materials?

Most materials may be renewed by logging on with your name and student ID number.
Orbis Cascade Alliance (Summit) materials may not be renewed
To renew Interlibrary Loan (ILL) materials make a request to the Access Services desk 3 days prior to the due date unless no renewal is noted on the book band around the cover.

How long may I check out materials?

Audio cassettes - 4 weeks
Books - 4 weeks for students and staff/ 6 months for faculty
Government documents - 4 weeks
Interlibrary Loan Books - Varies
Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers (not current) - 3 days
Maps - 4 weeks/ USGS Topo Maps - 1 day
Orbis Cascade Alliance (Summit) materials - 6 weeks
Pamphlets - 4 weeks
Senior projects - 4 weeks
Student Technical Reports - 4 weeks

The following items are for in library use only:
Electronics Catalogs
Current Magazines and Newspapers
Microfiche and microforms
Reference books
Reserve books, including Oregon Tech catalogs on reserve

What are the overdue fines?

Books - $0.25/ Day
2 Hour Reserves - $0.25/ Hour
1 or 7 day Reserves/ Special Loans - $1.00/ Day
Recalled Items - $1.00/ Day
Magazines, Newspapers, and Journals - $1.00/ Day
Orbis Cascade Alliance (Summit) and Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - $0.50/ Day for 10 Days, then $1.00/ Day.

Overdue charges for Oregon Tech-owned items accrue to a maximum of $10.00 per item. When this charge is reached, and the item is not returned, the borrower will be charged the maximum $10.00 overdue fine, plus the replacement cost of the item (minimum replacement charge is $20.00), plus a $10.00 processing charge, plus a $10.00 billing charge, for each non-returned item.

For Alliance and ILL items, fines accrue until the item is returned, with no set maximum. Replacement charges for Alliance items are $75, plus a $20.00 processing charge, plus a $15.00 billing charge for a total of $110.00 for each Alliance item not returned.  Replacement charges for ILL items are established by the lending library, and will include a $20.00 processing charge, plus $15.00 billing charge, for each ILL item not returned.

What happens if I lose something?

Overdue charges for Oregon Tech-owned items accrue to a maximum of $10.00 per item. When this charge is reached, and the item is not returned, the borrower will be charged the maximum $10.00 overdue fine, plus the replacement cost of the item (minimum replacement charge is $20.00), plus a $10.00 processing charge, plus a $10.00 billing charge, for each non-returned item.

For Alliance and ILL items, fines accrue until the item is returned, with no set maximum. Replacement charges for Alliance items are $75, plus a $20.00 processing charge, plus a $15.00 billing charge for a total of $110.00 for each Alliance item not returned.  Replacement charges for ILL items are established by the lending library, and will include a $20.00 processing charge, plus $15.00 billing charge, for each ILL item not returned.

Where do I return materials?

In Klamath Falls: Items may be returned to the Access Services desk on the 1st floor of the LRC.
If the library is closed items may be placed in the outside Book Drop, located at the NE corner of the LRC building, nearest the Athletics Building. Items placed in the outside book drop after hours (or during closed periods) will NOT be processed until the following business day.


In Wilsonville
: Items may be returned in the library to the book return on desk, or to the librarian. 
If the library is closed items may be given to the Student Services office in room 130.
There is no outside drop box at this time. If the building is closed, please keep the material and return it at a later date.

Who may check out materials?

ask a librarian

Last Updated June 2014