First Place Individual Winners

A total of 106 mathletes competed in the MATHCOUNTS competition on February 22, 2008 at the Oregon Tech campus. Schools competing this year were:

  • Bonanza School
  • Brixner Junior High
  • Chiloquin Junior High
  • Ferguson Elementary
  • Henley Middle School
  • Hosanna Christian School
  • Daly Middle School
  • Ponderosa Junior High
  • Triad School
  • Tulelake Junior High

Mathletes and their coaches have been preparing for this competition since the fall.  Subjects include algebra, probability, statistics and geometry.

Scholarship Winners

1st place trophy and $2,500 Oregon Tech Scholarship - TJ Riblett, Triad School
2nd place trophy and $1,500 Oregon Tech Scholarship - Egan Cornachione, Ponderosa Junior High
3rd place trophy and $1,000 Oregon Tech Scholarship - Paul Brown, Ponderosa Junior High

Officially registered with MATHCOUNTS


1st place - TJ Riblett, Triad School
2nd place - Eric Henry, Chiloquin Junior High
3rd place - Rachel Hews, Triad School


1st place - Triad School (TJ Riblett, Sierra Hawthorne, Megan Mahaffey, Courtney Naubauer)

Teams not registered to compete in the State competition but qualifying for trophies:

1st place - Ponderosa Junior High (Paul Brown, Egan Cornachione, Alice Sun, Nam Nguyen)
2nd place - Tulelake Junior High (Danny Banderas, Adam Kandra, Zorg Loustalet, Karra Mahan)
3rd place - Ponderosa Junior High (Morgan Anderson, Kelsey Devish, Thomas Lund, Nick Wogan)