FAQs for Oregon Tech Student Employees
Updated on July 13, 2020
If you can’t provide any hours, please let the students know that there may be opportunities in other offices and to contact Student Affairs at firstname.lastname@example.org to indicate their interest/need in hours and their availability.
Quite possible. If you are an office that needs additional student workers, please email Student Affairs at email@example.com with information about your need (e.g., number of additional student workers or number of hours per week). Student Affairs will see if there are any students available who would be a good match for the work you need done. Reach out today!
Your supervisor will inform you of your schedule for the term. Please be sure to check your email regularly so you know what the current situation is in your department.
In accordance with the State of Oregon laws for meals and rest periods, if you work two hours or less you are not entitled to breaks. If you work more than two hours but less than 6 hours, you are entitled to one 10 minute paid break. If you work more than 6 hours you are entitled to one paid 10 minute break and a 30 minute unpaid lunch period. Your supervisor will attempt to schedule the breaks as close to the middle of the work period as possible.
Make sure that your supervisor knows first that you will be exceeding 8 hours in a day. Overtime must be paid for any hours over 40 in one week (Sunday through Saturday).
This will really depend on your assigned job duties and the comfort level of your supervisor. Ask your supervisor, as they have the discretion to determine whether the work assigned to you can be done without their direct supervision.
Please do not come to work if you are sick. Please contact your supervisor immediately so that appropriate arrangements are made (as much in advance) to cover your shift(s). Please use your campus resources, especially the Integrated Student Health Center, as needed.
Yes. Student workers (excluding work study positions) accrue 1 hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked. Accrued sick leave is available for student workers to use on the 91st calendar day after beginning work on campus. The maximum hours that can be earned and used per fiscal year (July 1 – June 30) is 40 hours. The maximum balance of accrued sick leave that a student worker can have is 80 hours (i.e., it is a cap and additional hours will not accrue beyond the 80 hours). Unused accrued sick leave hours will roll over up to a maximum of 40 hours to the following fiscal year.
To find out how many accrued sick leave hours a student worker has earned, students can log into Web for Students, go to the Employee Menu, and pick Leave Balances.