Home | Board of Trustees | Investiture

Investiture Ceremony


You Are Cordially Invited

On May, 18, 2018 the Board of Trustees of the Oregon Institute of Technology (Oregon Tech) will formally install the University’s seventh President, Dr. Nagi G. Naganathan, during an investiture ceremony beginning at 11:00 a.m. Dr. Naganathan was selected by the Board on November 16, 2016, and took office on April 3, 2017.

Who: Open to Public
What: Academic Ceremony
Where: Danny Miles Court, Klamath Falls Campus
When: Friday, May 18, 2018 at 11:00am
Why: Formal confirmation of new president

What is an Investiture?

An investiture is defined as the “formal ceremony of conferring the authority and symbols of high office.” It is held during the new president's first year in office, or at the conclusion of the first year. It is an academic ceremony which has symbolized the pursuit of knowledge since the Middle Ages. Today, universities view investitures as opportunities to welcome a new era and celebrate as a community.

History of Investitures at Oregon Tech

Oregon Tech has been welcoming presidents for more than 70 years. Winston Purvine started his tenure by officially opening the university on July 14, 1947, which set the stage for President Purvine’s guidance and vision that prevails today. Since then, presidents have conducted their formal public welcomes in a variety of different ways, from formal investitures to annual ice cream socials. The history of Oregon Tech Presidents can be found here: www.oit.edu/faculty-staff/president/history

Nagi G. Naganathan

Nagi G. Naganathan, Ph.D., ASME Fellow

Seventh President, Oregon Institute of Technology

Dr. Nagi Naganathan was appointed the 7th President of Oregon Tech in November 2016 following a national search; and began his official tenure in April 2017.

Prior to joining Oregon Tech, Dr. Naganathan served as the dean of the College of Engineering at The University of Toledo (UT) in Toledo, Ohio for over 15 years. He was UT's interim president during 2014-15 and was the founding chairperson of the Mechanical, Industrial, and Manufacturing Engineering department; and was a member of the faculty since 1986.

Dr. Naganathan has received a number of prestigious awards, including election to the rank of Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, UT Outstanding Teacher Award, UT Outstanding Researcher Award, SAE Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award, ASME Outstanding Regional Faculty Advisor Award, TST/TSPE Engineer of the Year, and Distinguished Alumnus Award from his alma mater, the National Institute of Technology in Tiruchirappalli, India.

Dr. Naganathan earned his Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from Oklahoma State University, a master’s degree in mechanical and industrial engineering from Clarkson University, New York, and a bachelor’s degree with honors in mechanical engineering from the National Institute of Technology at Tiruchirappalli (formerly known as Regional Engineering College, Tiruchirappalli), University of Madras, India.

Dr. Naganathan is married to Kasturi Naganathan, Ed.D. and they are the proud parents of daughter, Sonya Naganathan, M.D.

Photo Gallery

View the full album

Schedule of Events

Celebrating Student Success

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Board of Trustees Meeting

College Union
8:00am – 4:00pm

Catalyze Klamath Falls Challenge

Student Entrepreneurship Event
4:00pm – 7:00pm
Friday, May 18, 2018
Iron Owl Challenge
Military Honor Event, Opening Ceremony
Snell Hall Lawn
12:00pm – 1:00pm


Friday, May 18, 2018

Platform Party Breakfast
Mt. Mazama Room, College Union
9:00am – 10:00am

Investiture Ceremony
11:00am – 12:30pm

Investiture Reception
Crater Lake Complex, College Union
12:30pm – 2:00pm

General Information


Signs will identify designated parking areas within the university parking lots


Golf carts will be available at parking lot entrances for those requiring assistance to the gymnasium


Robing of persons in the academic delegate procession will begin at 10:30am in the College Union

Travel & Hotel Accommodations

For more information or special requests, contact:

The Investiture Committee