Oregon Institute of Technology (Oregon Tech) has established a 15-member Presidential Search Committee to assist with the process of conducting a search for a successor to current President Dr. Christopher G. Maples, who announced in March that he intends to step down in June of this year after leading the university as the sixth president since 2008.

The Presidential Search Committee comprises members from throughout the university community, including trustees, faculty, staff, students, alumni, government and community members from Klamath Falls and Wilsonville. It is being chaired by Kelley Minty Morris, current Oregon Tech trustee and Klamath County Commissioner. Trustee Minty Morris is a community leader known for her collaborative approaches and serves on a variety of committees within the community, and as a member of Oregon Tech’s President's Advisory Council.

The members of the Presidential Search Committee are:

Allison Brosterhous K-12 educator, Klamath Falls
Jeremy Brown Trustee, Challis Educational Opportunities Consultant, New York
John Davis State Representative, Wilsonville
Tom Insko President, Eastern Oregon University
Kristen Marsters Oregon Tech Student, ASOIT Past-President, Klamath Falls
Laura McKinney Vice President for Wilsonville campus
Kelley Minty Morris Trustee, Klamath County Commissioner, search chair, Klamath Falls
SophiaLyn Nathenson Assistant Professor, Humanities & Social Science, Klamath Falls
Celia Núñez Trustee, Western Market ADC Manager for State Farm Insurance Company, Wilsonville
Paul Stewart Trustee, Sky Lakes Medical Center CEO, Klamath Falls
Wangping Sun Full professor, Mechanical Engineering Technology, Wilsonville
David Thaemert Tenured Associate Professor, Civil Engineering, Incoming Faculty Senate President, Klamath Falls
Dee Thompson President, Oregon Tech Foundation, Sisters
Bob Wynne President’s Advisory Council member, Wynne Broadcasting Company Owner, Klamath Falls
Ruth Young Oregon Tech Clinic Nurse, Klamath Falls


The committee will begin its work immediately and is charged with a variety of tasks, some of which include selecting a search firm, developing policies and procedures for the search, conducting an analysis of the university’s future needs, managing and interviewing the applicant pool to identify finalists, providing recommendations to the Board, and keeping the university community appropriately apprised, which will include “Town Hall” style forums at later dates to solicit university and community involvement.

The presidential search process is expected to result in a president joining the university in January 2017 but no later than July 1, 2017.  On July 1, 2016, Interim Vice President of Finance and Administration Dr. Jay Kenton will step into the role of Interim President of Oregon Tech. Information regarding the presidential search process is available at www.oit.edu/trustees/presidential-search.


About Oregon Tech
Founded in Klamath Falls in 1947, Oregon Institute of Technology is the premier public polytechnic institution in the Pacific Northwest. Oregon Tech provides degree programs in engineering and health technologies, management, technology, communication, and applied sciences that prepare students to be effective participants in their professional, public, and international communities through hands-on, applied and relevant learning. Oregon Tech has a full-service, residential campus in Klamath Falls and an urban, industry-focused campus in Wilsonville. Visit www.oit.edu to learn more about Oregon Institute of Technology.