In a continued effort to increase awareness and create a more welcoming and inviting work and learning environment, Oregon Tech is searching for an Executive Director of Diversity, Inclusion, and Cultural Engagement (DICE). The University is conducting a national search for this new leadership position, which will report to President Naganathan.

“I am truly excited about this new position and the prospect of adding additional diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) subject matter expertise to our executive staff,” said President Naganathan. “As we know from our regular interactions with industry leaders, DEI is an increasingly important aspect of excellence in the workplace. We need to be modeling such excellence for all members of our community and to better prepare our students for the DEI standards and expectations they will encounter in their profession upon graduation.”

The position took roots last fall when President Naganathan formally announced the university’s commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion to address institutional racism and other forms of inequities. After gathering and assessing feedback from the campus community, the position of the DICE Executive Director was created to help build a more inclusive environment on Oregon Tech’s various campuses. The DICE Executive Director will partner with University stakeholders to develop DEI plans and serve as a resource, collaborator, and partner in matters relating to DEI.

“We are seeking the type of leader who can help ‘connect the dots,’ particularly between accreditation standards, state and federal legal requirements, and the DEI goals and objectives outlined in Oregon Tech’s recently adopted Strategic Plan,” said President Naganathan.

The search committee will be chaired by Dr. Abdy Afjeh, Vice Provost for Research & Academic Affairs. Student search committee members include: Hemi Patel, Mario Segura, and Gabi Taylor. Faculty search committee members are Dr. Hope Corsair, Dr. Franny Howes, Jamie Kennel, and Kevin Pintong. Classified and Unclassified Staff search committee members are Rebecca Burkeen, Doug Halvorsen, Christy Leventon, Iona Musgnung, and Carl Thomas.

The formal search for the DICE Executive Director is anticipated to carry through the Spring Term with an anticipated start date of July 1 or soon after. The campus will be invited to participate in the interviews of finalists, which are likely to be scheduled in May.