Joe Traver
Student, Class of 2025
Portland, Oregon

Extracurricular Activities

Fishing, building custom guitar pedals and hanging out with my kids

A Little Bit About Me

I am 36 years old and grew up in southeast Portland. I was enlisted in the USMC for four years and have circumnavigated the globe flying to Kuwait from the west and aboard a ship from the east. I am a father of three girls ages 10, 4 and 2. I work full time and possess many hats such as manufacturing engineer, tool maker and production CNC programmer. My family takes center stage in my life, and I love getting the opportunity to spend time with them solving puzzles, playing games and gardening.

Why I Chose Oregon Tech and My Major

I am a tool and die maker by trade and see the next step to be in a Manufacturing Engineering role. I chose Oregon Tech because it had the degree program I was looking for and it was close which in turn helped with my more complex scheduling needs.

My Greatest Learning Experience At Oregon Tech

My greatest learning experience has come from my math and science general courses. The challenge presented from them has provided me with skills that push me to solve complex problems systematically and independently. I tend to be among the older students in my classes and I think that my life experience in industry brings new perspectives to the content being learned.

My Plans After Graduation

I plan to continue my career at my current employer and expand my expertise in the world of engineering. I have a few ideas that I would like to develop personally with my newfound knowledge and hope that they can change the world.