Penalties for Offenses
|No Current Oregon Tech virtual permit||$25.00|
|No Parking Zone||$25.00|
|Other Parking Offenses||$25.00 / $35.00|
|Driving a Motor Vehicle or Bicycle in a Non-Designated Area||$35 + cost of repairs|
|Bicycle Parked in Non-Designated area||$25.00|
|Parking in or Blocking a Designated ADA parking space by Authority of Oregon Revised Statue (ORS) 811.615(5)||$55.00 / $195.00 / $455.00|
|Violation of Oregon Tech Policy - Traffic Offenses
Moving violations including such offenses as reckless driving, driving while intoxicated, speeding, driving the wrong way, disobeying a traffic control device (running stop signs etc.), excessive noise and other offenses not otherwise specified herein are a violation of the State of Oregon motor vehicle laws and punishable upon conviction. In accordance with Oregon State law, campus violators will be fined $35.00. Violations referred to the City of Klamath Falls revert to city bails and fines.
Habitual offenders are fined $60.00 in addition to the original citation fine for the offense(s) on their latest citation. Habitual offenders are defined as individuals who are responsible for three or more separate offenses/citations in an academic year. The $60.00 fine -in addition to the offense fine on the given citation- is imposed for the third conviction and each conviction thereafter during the academic year.
A vehicle may be “booted” and the owner responsible for immediately paying all accrued fines in the following circumstances:
- A vehicle has a parking permit and has been issued five (5) or more citations within the current academic year.
- A vehicle does not have a parking permit and has been issued three (3) or more citations within the current academic year.
Oregon Tech Campus Safety Patrol and Parking Services will have the ability to place a booting device on a vehicle in violation of the mentioned violations above. The responding officer will confirm all violation and fines with the Parking Services officer or the Cashier's Office before a boot is placed on a violating vehicle. When confirmed, the responding officer will boot the vehicle in violation and leave information on the vehicle's windshield advising of the booting and why it was placed. The violator will be given instructions on paying all fines at the Cashier's Office in Snell Hall before the boot is removed from the vehicle. The Cashier's Office will provide the violator with a receipt of full payment for parking fines that will be given to the responding officer. Upon confirming the receipt of full payment of fines from the violator, the officer will remove the boot from the violator's vehicle.
A vehicle may be towed off campus and impounded and the owner subjected to towing and storage fees in addition to penalties under the following circumstances:
- A vehicle is causing imminent danger to people or university property.
- A vehicle that has been left parked or standing in an area not normally used for vehicular traffic including parking on sidewalks lawn or landscaped areas.
- A vehicle is considered abandoned for at least seven (7) days.
- A vehicle is parked for more than 4 hours in the charging station actively charging their electric vehicle.
- Continued violations accrued after booting protocol has been concluded. Example: A vehicle has been booted and existing fines and penalties have been paid, but parking violations continue